(Winter 2017) CS 485/585 - Intro to Cryptography

Announcement

  • <2017-02-07 Tue> Quiz 1 solution posted on D2L. HW 3 out.
  • <2017-01-24 Tue> Homework 2 posted.
  • <2017-01-13 Fri> Jan. 12 lecture cancelled. Schedule, HW1 updated.
  • <2017-01-10 Tue> Slides in Lecture 1, HW1 posted.
  • <2017-01-04 Wed> Course page up and running! Check it out~

Schedule (subject to change)

Date Topic Homework and Reading
Tue Jan. 10 Syllabus, intro, math background;
Perfect secrecy
[Intro slides PDF 3.8M]
Reading: [KL] Chapter 1, Sect. 2.1, Appendix A.
[Homework 1 PDF] out (due Tuesday, Jan. 24)
HW1 updated due to cancellation on Jan. 12
Thu Jan. 12 Cancelled due to SNOW’17  
Fri Jan. 13 Catch a lecture at
Quantum & crypto day @ Portland
Plan B
Tue Jan. 17 Cancelled due to QIP’17  
Thu Jan. 19 Cancelled due to QIP’17  
Tue Jan. 24 Quiz 1
One-time pad, limits of perfect secrecy;
Computational secrecy
[Lec2 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] Sect. 2.2,2.3,3.1,3.2.
HW 1 due, [HW 2 PDF] out
Thu Jan. 26 Stream ciphers, pseudorandom generators
[Lec3 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] 3.3,6.1
Supplement: [BS V0.3] Chapter 3
Tue Jan. 31 Block ciphers, pseudorandom functions
[Lec4 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] 3.5,3.6,6.2
Supplement: [BS] Chapter 4
Thu Feb. 2 CPA
Quiz 2
[Lec5 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] 3.4,3.5
Supplement: [BS] Chapter 5
Tue Feb. 7 Message authentication, domain extension
[Lec6 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] 4.1,4.2,4.3,4.4
Supplement: [BS] Chapter 6
HW 2 due, [HW 3 PDF] out
Thu Feb. 9 Hash functions, random oracle, applications (MAC)
[Lec7 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] Chapter 5, Appendix A.4
Supplement: [BS] Chapter 8
Tue Feb. 14 Theoretical constructions of private-key primitives
[Lec8 draft note: PDF]
Reading: [KL] Chapter 7
Supplement: [BS] Chapter 4.5,4.6; [Gol00] 2.5,3.4,3.7
Thu Feb. 16 Private-key crypto Review
Quiz 3
[Lec9 draft note: PDF]
 
Tue Feb. 21 Public-key revolution, Diffie-Hellman
Number theory review
Reading: [KL] 8.1,8.3.1,Appendix B1,B2,Chapter 10
Notes on algebra and number theory (part I, Part II)
HW 3 due, HW 4 out
Thu Feb. 23 Public-key encryption
PKE examples: RSA, Elgamal, etc.
 
Tue Feb. 28 CCA
Theoretical constructions of PKE
 
Thu Mar. 02 Digital signatures
Quiz 4
 
Tue Mar. 07 Signature cont’d HW 4 due, HW 5 out
Thu Mar. 09 Zero-knowledge proofs
secure multi-party computation
 
Tue Mar. 14 Lattice and fully homomorphic encryption  
Thu Mar. 16 Quantum computing and effects on cryptography
Review for final exam
 
Mon Mar. 20 Final Exam: 10:15am-12:05pm  

Supplements

Make-up lectures

  • Attend at least one of the talks at Quantum day @ Portland, January 13, 2017.

  • (Plan B) If you cannot attend any of the talks on Jan. 13, please email me in advance. Upon approval, you have the option of watching one of the recorded talks below instead.